MVH Awards Night

70 members met at the Hilton House Hotel on Saturday 3rd December for a fantastic celebration of the 2016 season.

Members were in great spirits and welcomed a surprise guest to present some “special” award categories.

As always, the prizes for our club winners were presented so read on to see who cleaned up in 2016

Before we get in to the winners, a special mention to Robin Barber who organised a number of social events over the year. But Robin excelled himself by pulling together a fun and memorable evening. Of course there was help from keen volunteers but Robin has gone above and beyond – and for that we salute him!


Club Champions – Anna Jaques and Mick Skivington

Club Handicap Winners – Anna Jaques and Matt Wagstaffe

Club Vet Winners – Jill Parker and Mick Skivington

Club Novice Winners – Sasha Wheatcroft and Max Roberts

Male Sprint distance Winner: Alex Mead
Male Standard distance Winner: Matt Wagstaffe
Male IM-distance Winner: Ian Burrows
Female Sprint / Standard / IM-distance Winner: Anna Jaques!
Male TT Winner: Alex “The Speed” Mead
Female TT Winner: Rachel “The Draft” Craft
Summer Aquathon Winner: James “Honest” Hooley

The peoples vote (Triathlete’s triathlete) went to a well deserved candidate: Sarah Clark. Votes on the evening from all attendees left Sarah out in front, with recognition for commitment to her own training as well as unwavering support for new and existing members as a level 2 coach and a regular bike lead.

The Coaches Award went to Jonathan Hydon. Whilst there were other nominees, there was unanimous support from the coaches for this decision. There were a string of notes around his shortcomings of course (time-keeping, attention-span to name just two) but none of this detracted from the fact Jonathan improved his bike and swim considerably, putting in the hard miles and lengths to conquer IM-Copenhagen with spare gas in the tank. A great year Jonathan!

Later in the evening we were lucky to have a surprise guest who arrived in style……

Meynell presented some new awards:

Most injured:

John Philliskirk – Stiff competition in this category!

Best supporter:

Nathan Bennett. He also raced, but Meynell calls it how it is and Nathan carried Anna’s trophies away from each and every race!

Least prepared:

Sally Kuman – New bike. No multi-tool. Loose handle bars = missing out on AG honours at Outlaw half.


After years of questionable tactics, James “Honest” Hooley wrestles the club aqauthon trophy away from the indiscretional clutches of the sand-baggers and bandits.

James said “I did it for all the good, honest, hard-working triathletes who have suffered over the years at the hands of these rogues. Good over evil. Hurrah.”

Robin Barber declined to comment after handing over the title……..